March Madness 2018: Dates & Locations

With the 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament underway, preparations and assignments have already been made for next year’s tournament.


This year, the tournament concludes with the Final Four at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. In 2018, the 68-team tournament will finish up when the Final Four makes a return to the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.


The University of Texas-San Antonio has been chosen as the host school for the event. It’s the fourth time in the Alamodome’s history that it host a Final Four (1998, 2004 and 2008). On December 1, 2016, the NCAA hosted a logo reveal party to kick off the preparation for the 2018 Final Four.


Lynn Hickey, the director of athletics are UTSA, said at the event that the school and city feel grateful to be chosen once again to host.

“We are very excited to have the Final Four back in our city and are honored UTSA is designated as the host institution for the tournament. UTSA has had the great opportunity to be a part of 17 NCAA championship events since 1997, and we take great pride in our work with the NCAA and the visiting teams. We are proud to be a part of SALOC, which is a very efficient and experienced hosting group, and we look forward to showcasing our wonderful destination city and delivering an exceptional experience for the teams and their fans.

The 2018 tournament begins March 13 with the First Four play-in games in Dayton, Ohio and continues at various sites around the country.


Here’s a full list of dates and locations for the 2018 NCAA Tournament:

First Four

Host: University of Dayton

Location: Dayton, Ohio at UD Arena

Dates: March 13-14

First & Second Rounds

Host: Duquesne University

Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania at CONSOL Energy Center

Dates: March 15/17